The Nest

I am currently spending my second night here at my new home. You see yesterday was supposed to be moving day, where I start the process of transporting items and setting the place up.

Well that is SORTA true cause I bought a few things over and assembled my vanity and vanity chair, but it is no longer my official “move in” date because I need to have the conversation with the parents about it. They know I’m doing it, but I haven’t had a big long discussion with them yet. So this is more of a visit. I’ll come home Wednesday for the discussion, and return for my new official move in date on either Sunday or Monday.

I don’t care what they say during the discussion, it is happening. I don’t know if all they’ll try and do is talk me out of it, or if they just want to ask questions and give advice. Or maybe both. I’m having the discussion for them not for me.

The rent here is pretty high.

However, it will STILL be possible to get by, if I’m extra frugal. I’m only gonna be like that for as little as possible anyway, as once I’ve moved in, I’ll apply for rent assistance, and for local printing jobs now that my course is over.

I ordered a sensory swing online and it has FINALLY arrived. It was invented to help people with autism calm down in a safe, effective, drug free way. But because it is not my apartment, I have to ask permission to hang it in the doorway, and the landlord said no.

Fine. I won’t hang it in the doorway as it is a moderation thing because god forbid, WE MODIFY A DOORWAY WITH 6 TINY HOLES, FOR THE SAKE OF SOMEBODY’S HEALTH AND WELL BEING!!!!!!
Not having holes drilled in the doorway, is way more important.

 

But I am STILL gonna be hanging the swing. It HAS to happen. I am gonna get a stand, which will stand on it’s own and therefore not need any apartment modification for it to work. I did order a stand to begin with, but they were out of stock. So I had to stick with a doorway hanger which was risky as they may not allow it, and they didn’t.

But. I can always order another stand from a DIFFERENT shop that works the same way and does the same thing, the only difference is the brand.

And if they complain that the stand is in the way and clutters up the place when they come here to visit their son, it’s their fault for turning down the other idea.

Ok, that’s enough about that.

 

In fact, I just took a quick break from this blog in order to go off and order my special stand. And the awesome part is, that THIS supplier, was actually in Australia for once and not the USA!!!! And my new stand barely takes up any room, and will be here in 3 business days at the most!!!

So probably by the time I return for my official move in day, it will arrive.

I am also looking forward to my new bed arriving. I’m so sick of being on a bunk bed where I have to do an obstacle course every morning and night with the ladder and all.

So now, not only am I going to be on ground Level in this new home, but I’ll also have more room as it isn’t a single it is a queen. Made for the queens.

It also has a remote control so I can put it in 0 gravity mode so it feels as though I weigh nothing, I can raise the legs and/or head, or make the entire bed vibrate for a full body massage.

I can make the head go up but keep the legs flat, so that way I can have back support whilst I sit up in bed to do crosswords. Much more comfy than using the wall to my right.

Image result for remote control bed

My one and only roomie was worried that if he emptied all his things out if my            soon-to-be bedroom’s built in wardrobe, that their won’t be enough room in his room for all his things, and therefor he will need to leave some of his things in my room……

Well that’s not happening. The rent I need to pay is massive, so I at the VERY LEAST deserve to have my very own bedroom all to myself. I don’t care if he has too much stuff. He should de-clutter or fold things up extra tight like Japanese girls do.

I also deserve my very own swing on a stand even if it’s in the way. I will respectfully not drill holes in the doorway, but using a stand, isn’t breaking any rules even if the space it takes up bothers the landlord (my Roomie’s Dad) when he visits. I will save the doorway hanger for a future house.

 

Leave a comment